Our Story

Tyakunda District

Taringa-Milton-Toowong Scout Group is part of the Tyakunda District , which also includes groups at Indooroopilly, Kenmore, and Moggill.

The District also has a campsite, Tyamolum, at Mount Crosby, west of Brisbane.​

Scouting continues to be active and strong in the western suburbs of Brisbane and the TMT Scout Group is proud of its long Scouting heritage.​


Scouting started in the UK in 1908. Soon after in the same year, four Scout patrols had formed in Brisbane. One of these was the Toowong patrol attached to St Thomas’s Church in Toowong. About a year or so later, the Milton patrol had formed and sometime in the next year there is evidence that a patrol had also formed in Taringa.

Wolf Cubs started in 1918.  Milton is known to have been one of the earliest Troops in Brisbane to have started a Wolf Cub Pack in 1919.​

Rover Scouts came into existence in the UK in 1918. However, the first Rover Crew to be registered in Queensland in 1923 was the Milton Rover Crew.​

In 1986, the Milton and Toowong Groups amalgamated to form the Milton-Toowong Scout Group.

In 1993, the Taringa Group amalgamated with the Milton-Toowong Group to form the TMT Scout Group.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close